, Director of Swimmable Water Programs
Posted: July 2, 2020 at 5:46 pm

What you need to know about the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and beaches for Independence Day weekend 2020

Last updated: Friday July 3, 2020

Independence Day Beach Closures in California

  • California State Parks: California State Parks in Souther California and in San Francisco are will be closing temporarily from July 3- July 5. According to the state government, ” California State Parks is implementing safety measures to reduce the density of visitors over the Fourth of July weekend (July 3-5) in the State Park System. All state beaches in Los Angeles and Ventura counties will be temporarily fully closed to the public in alignment with county public health orders, as well as in Monterey County to align with local agencies. State Parks will also be temporarily closing vehicular access at all beaches in Orange, San Diego, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz and Sonoma counties.”
  • LA County

    LA County beaches, piers, beach bike paths and beach access points will be closed from Friday, July 3 through Monday, July 6. County Supervisor Janice Hahn explained that is “Due to rising #COVID19 cases all @CountyofLA beaches will be closing again temporarily this weekend, July 3rd through 6th.” Violating the closure amounts to trespassing, punishable by fines up to $1,000. Read more here about the LA County 4th of July beach closures.

  • Monterey County: Monterey County officials announced the closure or limited access to all beaches throughout the county for Independence Day weekend. The closure will begin Friday, July 3 until Monday, July 6.

    Monterey,Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach are closed. All State Parks are also closed.

  • Orange County: Orange County closed a number of beaches from July 4-5. These include Aliso Beach, Capistrano Beach, Salt Creek Beach, Baby Beach, Bayside Beach, Camel Point Beach, Poche Beach, Strands Beach, Table Rock Beach, Thousand Steps Beach, Treasure Island Beach and West Street Beach.
  • Santa Barbara County: Santa Barbara County announces it’s closing beaches for the holiday weekend, from July 3 – July 5. Further, those who fail to comply with the restrictions face fines and imprisonment.
  • Independence Day Beach Closures in Florida

    Click the links to access the emergency orders.

  • Miami-Dade County : Miami Dade will close its beaches from July 3-7. This includes Miami, Miami Beach and Key Biscayne.
  • Broward County: Broward County will closed its beaches from July 3-5. Popular beaches here include Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood Beach, Dania Beach, Las Olas Beach, Pompano Beach, Deerfield Beach.
  • Palm Beach County: Palm Beach County will close its beaches from July 3-7. According to the Palm Beach Post, all beaches, no matter if they are municipal or private, will be closed.
  • Monroe County: Monroe County beaches will be closed from July 3 evening to July 7. This includes the Florida Keys.
  • Martin County: Martin County announced a full closure of its public beaches from July 2 evening to July 6.
  • Independence Day Beach Closures in Texas

    Many Texas beaches in the southeast part of the state will have restrictions this weekend for the Independence Day holiday. These closured are part of the effort to reduce the spike of COVID-19 cases.

  • Cameron County: Cameron County will close public access points to the beaches within the county. The county’s parks will also be closed. The closure began on June 30 and will run through Monday, July 13.
  • Galveston County: Galveston County city beaches will close to the public from 3 July to 6 July. Galveston Mayor Jim Yarbrough also said that he would consider closing certain access points for the remainder of the summer.
  • Padre Island Seashore: Padre Island Seashore will be closed from Thursday, July 2 at 8:00 p.m. until Tuesday, July 7 at 6:00 a.m.
  • Nueces County and City of Corpus Christi:
    In order to slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus, Nueces County and the City of Corpus Christi will temporarily restrict vehicular access to Bay and Gulf Beaches within Nueces County during the July 4th holiday weekend. The temporary restriction of vehicular access will begin on Friday, July 3, 2020 at 6:00 AM and will end on Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 6:00 AM. The vehicular restrictions include golf carts and all-terrain vehicles. Residents and visitors can walk along the beach. It is expected that Nueces County Judge Barbara Canales will sign the Order tomorrow morning that will put this into effect immediately.
    This temporary closure includes all Port Aransas beaches. Additionally, the Federal Seashore at Padre Island National Seashore will restrict vehicular access during the same four-day period.
    In addition to temporary closures, all beaches within Nueces County are subject to a curfew beginning on Wednesday, July 1, 2020 between the hours of 8:00 PM to 6:00 AM. The curfew will be lifted on Saturday, July 11, 2020 at 6:00 AM.
    Residents and visitors can walk along the beach during non-curfew hours but are encouraged to continue to maintain six-foot distancing.
    In order to slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus, the City of Corpus Christi will close eight regional parks beginning Friday, July 3, 2020 at 6:00 AM and ending Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 6:00 AM.
    Nueces County and City of Corpus Christi
    Swim Guide
    is supported by
    * The RBC Foundation

    Swim Guide shares the best information we have at the moment you ask for it. Always obey signs at the beach or advisories from official government agencies. Stay alert and check for other swimming hazards such as dangerous currents and tides. Please report your pollution concerns so Affiliates can help keep other beach-goers safe.

    Swim Guide, "Swim Drink Fish icons," and associated trademarks are owned by SWIM DRINK FISH CANADA.| See Legal.

    © SWIM DRINK FISH CANADA, 2011 - 2022